1 min read

2 updates from Alice

Alice, a wheelchair user, is holding a bullhorn at a protest. People are holding signs: “Disability Rights!”

Happy summer, everyone! Here are two fun updates I'd like to share with you all. My dream of being a voice actor in an animated series came true! I play Alice, a character loosely based on me in season 2 of Human Resources on Netflix available now. I recorded this before I lost my ability to speak last year and it's so wonderful to know my voice will be out there in popular culture forever.

Hope, a lovebug with curly purple hair and a sparkly magenta body, is talking to Alice, a disabled wheelchair user

The second update that I'm excited to share is that I'm partnering with Eater in a series called Low and Slow, a series on the joys and pleasures of eating, cooking, and sustenance by disabled people. You can read my introduction here and check out the first piece by Brandy Schillace on finding joy in gardening. Illustrations by Ananya Rao-Middleton and audio narration by Cheryl Green. More pieces to come later this year!

Illustration by Ananya Rao-Middleton with an orange background and a large purple slow cooker with the dial that reads Low and Slow. The lid is slightly ajar and inside are various vegetables and disabled people smiling and looking content.
a purple slow cooker with the dial that reads Low and Slow. Inside are various vegetables and disabled people

Smell ya later!

Alice